An Esthetician Recommends: Book Review

littlebookofskincare.jpg

Yall. I didn’t even notice until like…Friday that I didn’t put up a post last week. I’m so sorry to all five of my readers! I didn’t have any posts on backup to insta-publish, either. Bad blogger, bad!

Well, I’m back this week with a book review for you guys. If you’ve been reading my posts, you’ll know that I reference Charlotte Cho’s book quite often. I wanted to give it a proper review, since I’ve talked about it so much! This will be a relatively quick review, as I want to encourage everyone to actually read the book themselves.

Charlotte is a board-certified esthetician who found her love for all things skin when she moved to Korea. She began to realize that you’ll get much better results when you treat skincare as a culture, rather than a means to an end. Which is a fantastic way of looking at it! Throughout her book, she really explores the differences between Korean skincare and Western skincare.

I think my favorite thing about this book is how she drives home the fact that Korean skincare is not simply a current trend. While Korea loves anything new and trendy, the principle has stayed the same forever: prevention, consistency, routine. What I really like is that Charlotte writes as a consumer AND an esthetician. I think that’s very important. It will do you no good to get your skincare advice from someone who doesn’t know what’s going on their skin, just buys whatever smells nice. And it won’t do to be talked at by a professional who’s removed from what’s more accessible.

In the book, you’ll find information on skin typing, special considerations, ingredient recommendations, tips on shopping for skincare, the steps to an ideal skincare routine-there really is a lot of really good info in this little book.

I absolutely recommend this book for everyone-teens, adults, skincare newbies, skincare experts; literally everyone could benefit from this book. I enjoyed it as both a skincare professional and a consumer. You can find it here or on Amazon.

What skincare books have you read and would recommend to others? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to give your recs a read!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

