DIY Cleanser Wipes + The Spoonie Esthetician’s Skincare Routine

Let me be REALLY honest with you guys. I cannot, for the life of me, find the link to the original post that inspired this. A classmate made these cleansing pads and text me the link to the recipe, but I didn’t save it, I just wrote down the recipe and variations. I feel terrible that I can’t directly link to it! But I do know that the blog is One Good Thing, so maybe you can do better digging than I can.

Part two of my honesty: my health is declining. I have no spoons left even though I haven’t done much since Sunday night (Google autoimmune spoon theory if you don’t know what I’m talking about). So, much like my skincare routine lately, I’m phoning in this blog post. I promise that as soon as I’m feeling better, I’ll post better content.

So now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about today’s post! Facial wipes are, without a doubt, the holy grail in low-maintenance skincare. They’re convenient, don’t require water, and you can use them when you’re about to crash/are too high or drunk to wash your face/your spoons are low and standing at the sink seems impossible. However, they are not the best for your skin. They’re often made with rough fabric and cheap ingredients that dry/break out your skin. They can leave your skin feeling greasy and dry at the same time. The best of both worlds is to make some wipes yourself that contain the right ingredients but are still convenient and easy to stash in your bedside table.

Before I get into the recipes, here’s my low spoons skincare routine. In my bedside table, I keep wipes, a small spray bottle of toner, and a travel-sized moisturizer. After wiping my face down, I spritz on the toner and massage in some moisturizer. Obviously, this is not ideal for long-term use. If I have to do this at night, I try to take extra care to treat my skin in the morning, or vice-versa. But, this is a better solution than just using a wipe by itself and calling it good.

On to the recipes!

basicrecipe

This very basic recipe is what you’ll soak your material in. You can use cotton squares, cotton rounds, flannel pieces, whatever you prefer. Put the material in a glass jar, pour the liquid over it, and ta-da! Your wipes are ready once they’ve absorbed the liquid. Now, since there are no preservatives in this mixture, you’ll want to make this in VERY small batches. You could try adding a liquid exfoliant to the mixture to act as a preservative.

Here are some ideas for the essential oil blend to include:

oilyskin comboskin

dryskin   aging

breakouts

As you can see, these are not necessarily an inexpensive alternative to store bought facial wipes. All of these essential oils can be quite pricey. You can absolutely choose just two or three oils from each list! Although they might cost more than store bought wipes, they are far and away better for your skin. If you’d like a DIY toner, the same blog post included this one:

  1. 1/4 cup witch hazel
  2. 1/4 cup filtered water
  3. 10 drops essential oil

What are your “lazy skincare” tips and tricks? Do you think you would replace your store bought wipes with these? Let me know in the comments below!

(Sources:

Wipes: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/93/a4/39/93a4394c60791d3eef4edac0648def2d.jpg

Oily: http://www.onlyfoods.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Bergamot-oil-Images.jpg

Combo: http://draxe.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/lav-480×480.jpg

Dry: http://greenorganicsinternational.com/images-GOnew/roman-chamomile-feature1big.jpg

Breakouts: http://www.pagansworld.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/patchouli.jpg

Aging: https://www.truthinaging.com/media/thumbnails/1528.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

