Choreography: Serums + Masks + All the other “extras”

If you’ve read every post leading up to this one, congrats! I hope you find the perfect products for your skin and put together a routine that will give you great skin. We’re down to the last post, where I’ll cover all the “extras”, that aren’t really extras at all: serums, masks, and sunscreen.

All of the skincare products we’ve covered (cleanser, toner, etc.) should address your skin type. Serums, treatments, and masks should address your skin concerns-things like acne, discoloration, aging. Keep that in mind when purchasing products.

Multi Masking

Masks always seemed like a waste of money to me, like a cheap indulgence that you did when your girlfriends came over. I’m still skeptical of most of them, but I can see their benefit now. It’s all in the ingredients.

Most masks that you’ll find are going to contain more preservatives and colors than actual beneficial products. Just the other night, I used a mask on my husband and I that claimed to contain at least 80% natural products. After inspecting the ingredients label, I saw that there were over 30 ingredients in this mask. 30!!! And sure enough, when I researched each individual ingredient (The Punk Rock Esthetician is also a Huge Nerd), the majority of them were preservatives. Granted, half of the majority were naturally derived preservatives so they could keep their claim, but the fact remains that there were only a handful of beneficial ingredients.

So, do your homework, and when you find a mask you like + contains good ingredients, stock up. Here are the benefits of using (skin-type correct) masks:

masking1

A lot of people fail to see results from using masks because they’ve got multiple concerns, but are only using one mask. Try multi masking your face: if your t-zone is oily but your chin is dry and flaking, use an oil-balancing mask on your t-zone and a hydrating mask on your chin.

Sheet masks are wtf popular right now, and for good reason. It makes sense that you’d want to seal in all the goodness you’re slapping on your face. They’re especially beneficial for those with drier skin, and are a personal favorite of mine. Plus, it gives you around 20 minutes to just chill.

Serums

I hate the retailing aspect of any esthetician job. I can give product recommendations when asked (or when I’m writing it to a mostly anonymous audience, hence this blog), but I HATE trying to sell something to someone, especially if I know that there are better products out there for the same price. Serums are one of the few things I could comfortably “push” when I was retailing in school.

A serum is the closest thing to magic in a bottle. According to the Milady esthetics textbook, “serums are chemically formulated with smaller molecules that are able to penetrate further into the skin and thus are more effective.” These thin liquids are comprised of super concentrated vitamins, lipids, and antioxidants, so spend your money here and invest in a killer serum.

Sunscreen

I’m gonna be really frank here…just f**kin wear your sunscreen. There is zero reason for me to list the benefits of sunscreen because we all know them by now. But, I will list why you need to wear it every damn day. Sun exposure leads to skin cancer, aging, hyperpigmentation, capillary damage, free radical damage, and collagen and elastin deterioration. The sun is always doing damage. Always. Even on cloudy days, even during the winter-actually, especially under the conditions. Basically, if the sun is existing, you need to protect yourself from it. So…every day.

I’ll eventually write a more in-depth post about the difference between UVA and UVB rays, important ingredients, etc. But for now, know this: every day, the last skincare step in your routine should be a broad-spectrum SPF 30 sunscreen. Or else, you could look like this:

sundamage

Or this:

sundamage2

OR THIS!!!!!!!

leatherface

So. Yeah. Wear your f**kin sunscreen, every damn day. You’ll look forever young and reduce your cancer risk.

fin

Well there we have it, thus ends our Choreography series. I hope you got some good information + inspiration! Let me know in the comments what you’ve added to your skincare routine since reading the series, what your routine looks like, any questions + requests for product recommendations!

5 thoughts on “Choreography: Serums + Masks + All the other “extras”

  1. Is it possible to make your own masks and they be just as if not more beneficial? I have looked and looked for masks and found nothing I like in my area or that works for me. I have looked up many natural masks you can make and would like your opinion?

    Like

    • DIY masks are a great option as long as you’re super careful about what you’re using. Stay away from anything abrasive like salt, and use all organic fruits and veggies. Make sure you’re only using things that are good for your skin type. There’s a lot of debate on whether or not DIY masks actually accomplish anything…some estheticians use the argument that you no longer need to eat moldy bread to get penicillin because now you can just take penicillin. I personally think it’s a good option.

      Byrdie recently published an article on S.W. Basics, a truly all natural skincare line. In the article, they detail two all natural, DIY masks that I think would be pretty effective. Here’s the link: http://www.byrdie.com/skin-cleanse

      Thank you so much for your comment! I think I’ll be doing a DIY mask post soon because of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SweetEClaire says:

    Alright, I’ve read your Choreography series and am excited to implement some of the things I’ve learned! I’ve never had a consistent skin care routine, so for the next month I’m going to stick to one and see how much my skin thanks me 🙂 I found a 1-2-3 Set that includes a gentle foaming cleanser, an Astringent, and a moisturizer that I will use when I wake up, and after workouts. I might try some kind of chemical exfoliation a couple times a week as well. I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for the posts!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

